National Women’s Studies Association Conference Undergraduate Award

National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA) Conference Awards are given each fall to support the participation of undergraduate students in the NWSA annual conference. The award covers transportation, hotel, conference registration, and meals.

Undergraduate Awards to Participate in the
National Women’s Studies Association Conference

November 14-17, 2019

The Department of Women’s Studies will support the participation of 2 undergraduate students in the 2019 National Women’s Studies Association Conference in San Francisco, California November 14 -17. The conference will attract women/gender/sexuality studies scholars and students from across the country presenting workshops and panels on a wide range of issues addressing the conference theme, “Protest, Justice and Transnational Organizing.” 
To learn more visit the NWSA site or view the 2018 conference program

The award can be used for transportation, hotel, conference registration, and food.

Who is eligible to apply: Any University of Maryland College Park undergraduate student in good standing who has completed 12 credits of WMST and/or LGBT courses.

To apply please submit:

  • resume
  • list of LGBT and WMST courses, indicating which are completed and which are current enrollment
  • name and email address of one faculty recommender
  • 250-500 word statement of why you would like to attend the NWSA conference and how you will bring the information you learn back to the campus community
  • Note in your application if you can attend the full conference, or if only some days please list which ones

Applications should be emailed to Gwen Warman – — no later than 12:00 p.m. (noon) Friday, September 13, 2019.

To learn more about the National Women’s Studies Association visit  This video about the NWSA conference features several UMD women’s studies scholars (Dr. Mel Lewis, WMST PhD 2012; Maariya Bassa, WMST B.A. 2012; Dr. Michelle Rowley, WMST Core Faculty):

For questions about the award, please contact Gwen Warman,

Past Recipients of the NWSA Conference Awards

2017 “40 Years After Combahee: Feminist Scholars and Activists Engage the Movement for Black Lives” (Baltimore, Maryland) – Paula Molina Acosta and Bridget Rittman-Tune

2016 “Decoloniality” (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) – Asma Amirah Neblett and Ciera Richardson; read more about Asma and Ciera here

2015 “Precarity” (Milwaukee, WI) – Guy Hostetter and Thomas Voracek; read Guy’s report of the conference here

2014 “Feminist Transgressions” (San Juan, Puerto Rico) – Melva Coles and Eleyna Rosenthal