Core Faculty

The Women’s Studies Department and Program is a community and network of core and affiliate faculty members throughout the University of Maryland campus. This innovative structure explains the strength of Women’s Studies at the University of Maryland, inclusive of many disciplinary perspectives and methodologies, yet capable of encouraging new scholarship that is broadly interdisciplinary.

Ten core faculty administer the Women’s Studies Department and Program and teach the required courses for the major, undergraduate and graduate certificates and graduate degrees.

Elsa Barkley Brown, Associate Professor
barkleyb@umd.edu, 301-405-7710
Research areas: theories of collectivity and citizenship; political narrative; African American political culture; black women’s arts and culture; black gender studies

A. Lynn Bolles, Professor
lbolles@umd.edu, 301-405-6879
Research areas: Caribbean women; women of Africa and the African diaspora; qualitative research methods

Seung-kyung Kim, Professor and Chair
skim2@umd.edu, 301-405-7293
Research areas: gender and labor politics; transnational migration; education and family; feminist theory and social movements; Asian and Asian-American women

Katie King, Professor
katking@umd.edu, 301-405-7294
Research areas: feminist theory, including LGBT studies and materialist feminisms; cultural production, including transdisciplinary media studies; feminist technoscience and posthumanities methodologies

Deborah Rosenfelt, Professor
dsr@umd.edu, 301-405-6883
Research areas: women’s studies and curriculum change in higher education; gender, globalization, and culture; contemporary North American women writers

Michelle V. Rowley, Associate Professor
mrowley1@umd.edu, 301-405-0981
Research areas: gender and development; transnational feminism; feminist pedagogies; women in the African diaspora

Catherine A. Schuler, Associate Professor
cschuler@umd.edu, 301-405-4552
Research areas: history of Russian theatre; gender studies; critical theory

Ashwini Tambe, Associate Professor
atambe@umd.edu, 301-405-7209
Research areas: transnational feminist theory; sexuality studies; global political economy; modern South Asian history; state theory; interdisciplinarity, transdisciplinarity and disciplinarity

Bonnie Thornton Dill, Professor and Dean, College of Arts and Humanities
btdill@umd.edu
Research areas: intersections of race and gender; Black and Latina women in higher education; work, family, and poverty

Ruth E. Zambrana, Professor
rzambran@umd.edu, 301-405-0451
Research areas: women and health; Latino Studies; racial and ethnic disparities in family, child, and women’s health; maternal and adolescent health and organizational barriers to health care services

Evelyn Beck, Professor Emerita
etb@umd.edu
Research areas: literature, theatre, art, including the healing power of art; lesbian studies; Jewish feminist thought; psychoanalysis

Claire Moses, Professor Emerita
cmoses@umd.edu
Research areas: feminist theory; history of feminist movements; European women’s history; colonialism; the political economy of globalization

Adjunct Faculty

Ellen Moll
emoll122@yahoo.com

Heidi Temple
htemple@umd.edu

Annmarie Saunders
annmari7@umd.edu