Awards and Scholarships


The Charlotte Brozer Shapiro Scholarship in Women’s Studies will be awarded to a student majoring in Women’s Studies. The first scholarship will be awarded in Fall 2019. For more information, click here.

Novak Family TerpStart Endowed Scholarship in LGBT Studies is awarded to a student in the LGBT Studies certificate or minor program. The current recipient of the scholarship is Indigo Boyd, a Psychology major pursuing a Certificate in LGBT Studies. Find a list of past recipients here.

Rodler/Wood Scholarship is awarded based on one or more of the following criteria:  demonstrated financial need, hardship based on sexual orientation, academic interest in LGBT Studies, and extracurricular activities on behalf of LGBT issues. The 2018 recipients of the scholarship are Aqdas Aftab and Anna Storti. Find a list of past recipients here.



Academic Enrichment Grants for Women’s Studies Majors funds research or participation in academic or leadership conferences and workshops, or other activities that will enhance a major’s education in women, gender, and/or sexuality studies. Application deadlines are October 15 each year for projects during the September to February time period, March 15 for projects during the February to August time period. Find full details about how to apply.

Laura Nichols Award recognizes student commitment to equality, inclusion, and social change. Find more information about this award and past recipients here.

National Women’s Studies Association (NWSA) Conference Awards are given each fall to support the participation of undergraduate students in the NWSA annual conference. The award covers transportation, hotel, conference registration, and meals. Find a list of past recipients here.